One of our blog readers asked us…if someone blocked you on discord, do they appear offline? The answer is No. Sometimes, it can be difficult to know when someone is blocked on Discord.
Discord is a voice over IP instant messaging platform designed for creating communities By default, Discord does not notify users when they are blocked by another user. We don’t know the reason for keeping this secret, maybe to save the pain. But it’s still pretty simple to tell if you’ve been blocked or not.
5 Things that happen when you are blocked in Discord.
- If someone blocked you on Discord, if you are on the same server, you will still be able to see their messages.
- Your friend who blocked you will still see your messages.
- You will still be able to see their posts on servers that you share with them
- Your friends can still talk to you/hear you in voice channels unless you mute and deafen them (right-click on the person for those options).
- Your friends will still be able to see your status if you previously had any DMs with them in the past.
In this article, I will show you how to tell if someone blocked you on discord.
2 Ways to tell if someone blocked you on Discord.
1. Try Instant Direct Messaging (DM) Feature
A good way to know if someone blocked you is to just send them a quick ‘Hi!’ in DM’s. If they blocked you Discord will let you know. If they didn’t block you it’ll just be a friendly greeting. Simply try to DM them and see if it goes through. If it doesn’t, then either you were blocked.
If you’ve been blocked, you’ll receive a note from Clyde (Bot) telling you that “your message couldn’t be delivered because you don’t share a sever with the recipient or you disabled direct messages on your shared server“.
The pop-up message from Clyde BOT reads…
“Your message could not be delivered because you don’t share a server with the recipient or you disabled direct messages on your shared server, recipient is only accepting direct messages from friends, **or you were blocked by the recipient**.”
But this method can be sometimes defective, because your friend’s settings may be set not to allow them to get DMs from people not in their friends’ list/not in the same servers.
This usually means that you have been blocked by the user or the user has selected their privacy options as “Only Friends can DM” or “Only Friends and Server Members can DM”. It could be any of those.
But if you were able to DM someone before, and you can’t now, you were most likely blocked.
See Also: 3 Ways to make global emotes discord
2. Use Screen Shakes Notifications
Learn discord how to check if someone blocked you without messaging them. This is one of the best ways to tell if someone has blocked you on Discord. Simply try to react to one of their messages, and if your screen shakes, you have been blocked!
Try reacting to a message sent by someone you think has blocked you whether the message was in a server or in their DM chat. If the screen shakes and you can’t react to their message then this is a sure signal that you have been blocked by that user.
Author: Simon Robert
EasyInfoBlog is a multi-author blog. We have experts and professionals in various fields who share their ideas and expert knowledge to help you with your daily information needs. Thanks for reading!